WTCC Race of Hungary
logo WTCC Race of Hungary

WTCC Race of Hungary - 22-24/04/2016

Located close to the capital Budapest, the Hungaroring is famed for hosting the first Formula One grand prix behind the Iron Curtain in 1986 – an event won by Nelson Piquet in a Williams-Honda. Although it has been ever-present on the F1 calendar since, the Hungaroring is also established as a regular on the WTCC calendar. And the venue’s popularity among home fans has rocketed thanks to the emergence of Honda driver Norbert Michelisz as a home hero, particularly following of his pole-to-flag victory in the second race of 2015. FIA European Formula 3 is the lead support race in 2016.



1: The WTCC will be the first international championship to try out the resurfaced Hungaroring in 2016, which boasts a new layer of asphalt of between 3-5 centimetres thick.
2: One of the highlights of the WTCC Race of Hungary weekend has been the parade through the streets of Budapest, which features high-speed driving displays by WTCC and Formula One aces.
3: Ex-Formula One driver Gianni Morbidelli scored his one and only WTCC win at the Hungaroring when he triumphed in the second race in 2014.
4: Hungary is one of the oldest countries in Europe. It was founded in 896, before France and Germany became separate entities, and before the unification of Anglo-Saxon kingdoms.
5: Hungarian inventions include the Rubik’s cube (Erno Rubik), the ballpoint pen (László Bíró) and the theory of the hydrogen bomb (Edward Teller).

FLASHBACK 2015 (1-3 MAY)

Norbert Michelisz underlined his status as a national hero by winning the second MOL Group WTCC Race of Hungary to claim Honda’s maiden victory in 2015 and end Citroën’s dominant start to the season. Driving the revamped Civic WTCC for the first time, Michelisz capitalised on his pole position in the reverse-grid race two for an emotional win in front of 35,000 fans. The Zengő Motorsport driver’s success followed world champion José María López’s third triumph of the year for Citroën in the opening contest, which ensures the Argentine remained the driver to catch in the title chase. Yvan Muller and Hugo Valente completed the race one podium with Tom Coronel and Tom Chilton second and third respectively in race two in their Chevrolet Cruze TC1s. Valente and Michelisz were the two Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy winners. However, it was a case of mixed fortunes for LADA Sport Rosneft with Rob Huff’s ninth in the opening race the highlight.

Official Website


Name: Hungaroring
Location: 2146 Mogyoród, Versenypálya 0222/2/3/6, Hungary
Length: 4.381 kilometres
Lap record (qualifying): Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée), 1m48.727s (145.05kph), 03/05/14
Lap record (race): Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée), 1m50.119s (143.223kph), 04/05/14


2015: Race 1: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée); Race 2: Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic)
2014: R1: Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée); R2: Gianni Morbidelli (Chevrolet Cruze)
2013: R1: Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Rob Huff (SEAT León)
2012: R1: Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Norbert Michelisz (BMW 320)
2011: R1: Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze)


2011-Present: Hungaroring